Monday Intention: Lightness

This week’s intention took a while to sort itself out.  I used Andrea’s Intention Meditation to help me sort through the various words that came up and get to the heart of the matter.  The heart of the matter this week is {Lightness}.

The rest of the week after I wrote my last post was all about kijiji.  I posted about a dozen listings and I sold some stuff.  And it felt MARVELOUS. Letting go of that wedding dress that I had been holding on to ever since I called off my first wedding?  MARVELOUS.  The bride-to-be was thrilled to be able to find a gorgeous, brand new dress for $200, and I was happy to let the dress fulfill its true purpose (such a beautiful dress deserves a wedding day). Plus…$200?  For something that was just taking up 4 feet of closet space?  I WILL TAKE IT!

As we sorted through our things, inventoried the furniture we wanted to keep, made stacks of books to let go…all of that…some interesting things started to happen.  First, as I cleared out extraneous clutter from cupboards and closets (don’t get me wrong, I am NOWHERE NEAR DONE yet) I felt…light…  The cupboards I’ve been through look so beautiful in their ordered simplicity.  Nothing is missing, but nothing is extra.  It’s perfect.

My intention for this week is to continue this simplifying process and achieve this {lightness} in every room.  I wish to sort out the things I truly love, need, and want from the things we just have around because they’re there.  I wish to create a new home that truly reflects us and what we love and treasure.  (And if I can make enough money on kijiji to afford movers?  Well that would be just dandy!)

2 thoughts on “Monday Intention: Lightness

Leave a Reply

