Dec 6: Make

Today’s Reverb 10 prompt asks: What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?

I am naturally a pretty crafty person.  I make things all the time.  This has gotten more prevalent since I became a mother.  I make things for my son, I make things with my son, and I make things to distract me from the hard parts of mothering.

The last thing I made was a felt Christmas tree.  I cut a tree out of a sheet of wool felt and I got Xander to help me decorate it with a couple dozen felt “ornaments” (small circles of different coloured felt).  Then I glued them all down.  Eventually I plan to cut out a brown trunk and attach it, and then possibly cut out a back for the tree, sew the two pieces together, and stuff it.  But it looks pretty great as-is.

I have oh-so-many things I want to make.  Lots of things for Christmas…cloth dolls and knitted dishcloths and cookies and bread and cheesecake and felt ornaments and dress-up crowns.  I want to write stories and Christmas cards.  Of course I need to clear time for all of these things…and I need to figure out how many of them I can do while toddler-wrangling.  Xander and I will make cookies this afternoon…we do that a lot (more than we should, probably).  And maybe after I write this I’ll make an honest-to-goodness list of Creative Possibilities and see how many I can do this week.

Leave a Reply

