Dec 12: Body Integration

In today’s prompt, Reverb 10 asks: This year, when did you feel the most integrated with your body? Did you have a moment where there wasn’t mind and body, but simply a cohesive YOU, alive and present?

Thank you for asking, Reverb 10.  I believe I did.
As someone who dreams of helping people everywhere drop out of their headspace and into their bodies, I appreciate this question.  We’ve gotten to the point as a society where it’s completely possible to go from day to day entirely separated from our bodies. We eat mindlessly, move (or don’t move) mindlessly…our thoughts are always elsewhere as we text on the bus, watch TV during dinner, and fall into bed completely exhausted and still mentally spinning.  Not that I’m speaking from experience or anything… (actually, I’m not…I don’t text at all, so that bus thing is all the rest of you :-P).

Would it be lovely if we lived fully integrated all the time?  Does anyone actually do that?  Helping people get out of their heads is my calling, but *I* don’t live a particularly integrated life myself.  It does happen though…often in little flashes, like when a particular song comes on and all of a sudden I drop whatever I’m doing and start to dance.  These moments come and go so spontaneously, and often so quickly.  They’re happening more often now that I’m in a happy apartment, and Xander loves it when he’s around for them…we have a little dance party in the living room.

There’s another kind of body integration: the still kind, the kind where I’m meditating or just going about my day and all of a sudden I notice things.  My breathing slows down and I am conscious of every movement my body makes…but I choose to sit in stillness and just be present with it.  This is starting to happen more too (yay!)…I talked about a moment like this in an earlier prompt, when I was on the bus and just…being.

I hope this trend continues and it starts to happen even more…and hopefully I can get back to my work of helping other people get into that state too.  There’s a 2011 goal for you.

Leave a Reply

