Dec 14: Appreciate

Today’s Reverb 10 prompt asks: What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it?

I began this year with a gratitude practice.  Every morning, the first thing I posted on Facebook was a status update about something I was grateful for.  I kept it up for more than two months, and it saw me through some potentially bad days.  But then I fell into a deep, dark hole of depression (which happens to me every few months…so NOT fun), and I couldn’t think of anything to be grateful for.  I also got the impression that people were getting tired of my gratitude posts.  *sigh*

That time seems so far away now. I wish I’d found another, more private way of continuing my gratitude practice.  It’s something I would like to try again in 2011.

But this question isn’t about 2011, it’s about 2010.  And I have two answers.

1. I’ve come to appreciate our local farmers.  This year Matthew and I have become increasingly aware of the provenance of the things we eat.  We joined a CSA over the summer, and recently we made a commitment to only buy local/free range meat and eggs.  We show our gratitude to the farmers who work so hard (and against such odds) by buying their products and supporting them as much as possible.  We also show our gratitude to the earth and to the food itself by taking a moment to breathe before each meal so that we can be fully present at the table (OK, we’re still working on this one).

2. Since we’ve moved into this apartment, I’ve come to appreciate the spiritual nature of being human.  I’ve been exploring spiritual rituals and meditation, and generally feeling like a small part of something larger.  I do Reiki on myself every night.  I express gratitude for it every night by thanking my guides and angels for watching over me as I walk my path.  I pay attention to dreams (now that I have them again…I didn’t have them for over a year).

Leave a Reply

