Jan 2: HAPPY NEW YEAR! (and finishing off the old one)

Hello!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!  May 2011 bring you limitless joy, abundance, and dreams come true.

We rang in the New Year at a cabin in the woods about an hour away from home.  It was beautiful.  We were all very low-key and relaxed.  My kind of party.

And now we’re home -a little tired, a little junk-fooded out, but very excited to create magic in this beautiful new year.

But for starters…

Let’s finish off Reverb 10.

The prompt on Dec 31 was: What central story is at the core of you, and how do you share it with the world? (Bonus: Consider your reflections from this month. Look through them to discover a thread you may not have noticed until today.)

Here’s the thing: I had a lot of trouble answering this question.  And the reason is because I’ve been getting in the way of my own core story.  The stories I’ve been telling (to myself and others) are about how I almost did things, how I got in my own way, how I was damaged or hurt or otherwise foiled.  Oy.  How unempowering (disempowering? anti-empowering?  Oh for goodness’ sake, you know what I mean). 

This past month did a lot to change all of this.  I’ve reread my month of blogging (26 pages!).  The prompts had me go over achievements and key moments and magic and miracles.  Suddenly the story of how I was emotionally abused by my ballet teacher…TWENTY YEARS AGO…is much less compelling (thank goodness).

Up until now my core story has been about how I wanted to dance and how I lost my way.  But this is the year I write my happy ending: the real story is about how I always wanted to dance, got lost for a while, and then found my way home.

Stay tuned, beloved reader(s).  Things are going to get really interesting this year.

Leave a Reply

