Inspiration Tuesday: An embarrassment of riches!

Happy Tuesday!

Here are some of the things that are inspiring me this week. Some of the MANY things…after last week I was convinced that the Internet would offer up no more treasures. WHOOOOO BOY was I wrong!

Let’s get started!

First of all, I am falling in love with Vivienne McMaster’s amazingness.

She creates beautiful photo collages and has an e-course all about self-portraiture. If you click the photo you’ll go to her first post on the incredible website Roots of She. And here’s another kickass post on her own site: The Dangers of Self-Portraiture

Next, I am loving The Caffeinated Elf. I love the name. I love the philosophy. And I LOVE LOVE LOVE this article. LOVE. Plus, she’s totally adorable.

Speaking of adorable people, The Bloggess is quite possibly my favourite…bloggess…of all time. I read this article and actually LOLed. Really:

I’d also want him to shoot me in the face for the good of humanity. It’s not *all* vanity, people. (a post about zombies and werewolves…and photoshop)

 

This was a big week for my friend Andrea! Just after revamping her amazing website at www.abccreativity.com, she has launched www.creativedreamincubator.com, a website devoted to growing your creative dreams and bringing them to life! As you know, I’m in the first session of Andrea’s Creative Dream Incubator e-course. If you have creative dreams you want to make real, I highly recommend this site (and the course).

 

Here’s a story that I LOVE: Never Underestimate A Pregnant Woman. Seriously, if/when I’m pregnant again, can I please be this kickass? Please? With Xander, I stopped dancing after my second trimester. Oof.

Here’s an absolutely amazing post by Jen Lemen. I met Jen through The Beckoning of Lovely when Xander was just a tiny one, but this is the first time I’ve checked out her blog. I LOVE IT. I will be going back again and again. There’s so much beauty there!

And, to continue the beauty, here is Your Other Name, the latest poem by the lovely Tara Sophia Mohr. I found her site in December when I was working on my Goddess Year workbook. I loved her gentle approach to goal setting (I’ve mentioned it before, but her Goals Guide is wonderful for people who get completely stressed out by typical “goal setting” approaches). This year Tara began including her poetry on her blog, and I am so glad she did. This is my favourite so far.

 

OK. Now go and get some Kleenex. Seriously.

Got it? All right. Check out this link.

Told you you’d need Kleenex. How beautiful and brave and amazing is that woman? Wow.

 

OK…two more things. Not a lot that can top those photos. But I always like to include some dance in my Inspiration Tuesday posts. This week I have two videos to share.

Here is a video from the amazing Nederlands Dans Theatre, which is touring the US right now (you lucky bastards). This show looks completely amazing.

And, finally, a stunningly serene montage of rehearsal footage from Pacific Northwest Ballet. It gives me chills.

 

And that’s it for this week! Have a great one!

xox

Meg

7 thoughts on “Inspiration Tuesday: An embarrassment of riches!

  1. The caffeinated elf article was particularly interesting to me. I’ve been silently internet stalking Scott Johnson, the cartoonist and podcaster from the myextralife.com webcomic for YEARS. I’ve written to him exactly 3 times in all that time. The most recent one was actually read aloud on one of his podcasts. I was so thrilled, and happy. Then Mike asked if I was going to write in again, and maybe he’d come to know me as one of his regular listeners. I literally shrank at the thought. The best I could explain it was that if we somehow interacted in any way, it would vastly increase the chances that I would do or say something stupid, and I would rather have him not know who I am than think that I’m an idiot. Sad, I know.

    • No, it’s not sad. At least not in the way you mean. It is so totally and completely normal and human. I can totally relate, and I think everyone can. We all put other people on pedestals and feel inferior and worry about being “stupid” or getting mocked. ALL of us. Including the people WE look up to. Everyone feels inferior to SOMEONE. Crap, now I have go and find that article where it quoted a mom who said “To a 3rd grader, a 4th grader is God.” If I find it again I’ll post it.

      The hard part to remember is that the people we look up to are just the same as us. Which means that Scott Johnson would probably be thrilled to hear from you again. Chances are that it makes his day to know that someone out there has been following him for years and took the time to write in.

      You just reminded me: When the Vlogbrothers (who I have been watching since 2007) organized VidCon in LA last year, part of me really REALLY wanted to go. But a bigger part of me was terrified of feeling lame and fangirly and lost-for-words and stupid. I decided that I would rather be anonymous and not make that connection. But I know from watching their VidCon coverage videos that they were totally blown away by the fans at VidCon and so happy to be able to hang out with them for a weekend. So…yeah…I get it. (There was also the whole issue of not being able to afford a flight to LA and not wanting to be away from my family for that long, but that doesn’t contribute to my point, does it? :P)

      • Yeah, Scott Johnson (yes, I must use his full name) is hosting an event this summer which I cannot attend for the real reasons you mentioned (no money, being away from family, plus traveling on a plane to the states BY MYSELF), and while I’m sad to miss it, I’m also kind of relieved that I have valid excuses not to go. Maybe someday it will be a terrifying but grand adventure for me.

  2. You were worried about not having enough to post on Friday, but you’ve given so much on this Tuesday post that I STILL haven’t gotten through it all!

    Awesome stuff, as usual. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

