…When “Failure” is really “Victory”…

…So yesterday I threw a party…

…and nobody came.

I was of two minds whether to blog about this or not, because it sounds like such a pity party or a very weak attempt at putting a brave face on it. But it’s neither of those things. So…there it is. No one came to my Dancing Mamas Tribe yesterday.

And here’s the thing: it’s really and truly OK. Really. I’m not just saying that, not just trying to convince myself of my non-failure-ness. It’s really OK. For a lot of reasons. Here are some of them:

-Now I know exactly how I want to set up the studio. I know what the stuff I planned looks like, what else I want to add to make it super-awesome, and how long it takes to set up and take down. This is all stuff I was worrying about that is now off my mind.

(Music and paperwork table)

(Mirror Covers)

(Need a few more for the bottom row and one side. I love how it looks like a rainbow threw up all over the mirror!)

-I know that we *can* make it out the door and downtown in time to set up and be ready for 9am. I was worried. Xander is NOT one of those “wake up at 5am” kids (or not often, anyway, thank goodness). Usually that’s good. But a kid who normally wakes up at 7:30 or 8 is a bit of a liability when you need to be out the door at 7:50. But hey, it’s possible.

-Having this “dry run” brought up all kinds of things I hadn’t thought of…like how I need to include my cell phone number in my promotional materials again. I took it out when we lived out in a cellphone dead zone, but now that we’re back in the city it would be really useful for people to be able to call and ask “where is this studio, again?” And I need signs to show where the bathrooms are. Also, parking. I hadn’t even thought to ask about parking until we drove up with a carload of stuff. And now I know: no parking in the lot, only on the street. A bit of a pain, but better to know than not, yes? Luckily, there’s a bunch of street parking in the area.

-Now that I’ve done it once and had zero attendance, every single person who comes will be a step in the right direction. Seriously, if one person comes next week it will be better than this week!

To be totally honest, I am amazed by my OK-ness here. It’s very uncharacteristic. I mean, I admit that the inner critic (the one who looks like an old, mean ballet teacher) is calling me names a little more loudly than usual, but at the same time she’s pretty easy to ignore. Because…and this is the HUGE thing…throwing a party and having no one come is one step closer to my dream than sitting at home and wishing I had the courage to throw the damn party already! Think about it! This is a freaking VICTORY.

And that, my friends, is why I am more than OK with the way things turned out. Plus, now I have a playlist all ready for next week 😛

xox
Meg

9 thoughts on “…When “Failure” is really “Victory”…

  1. Your positive attitude is so inspiring – because if this were me, I’d be a gibbering wreck in front of that lovely rainbow mirror.

    May I link to this from my Twitter feed? I don’t think I have many readers who are local to Halifax but you never know. 🙂

  2. Yay you!! I am celebrating this beginning with you, Meg!

    This is how it begins. I’ve held plenty of classes where no one came. When you see teachers with full classes, they are the ones that kept coming back, that kept creating a magical space, that kept sending the invitation and believing. You are remarkable. I believe in you!

    ((hugs))

    • Thank you so much, Jamie!
      I’m actually surprised at my OK-ness. It’s very unlike me to be OK with something like this (which is how I know I’m on the right track!). Matthew was far more sorry for me than I was for myself! 😀

      xox

  3. What makes this occasion a victory is that you’ll return to the studio next week, not stay at home under the covers, crying!

    I had a few no-shows or 1-to-2 people shows back when I first started teaching yoga. I had to remind myself that it wasn’t about me. I mean, how many times have I bailed on a yoga or dance class because of the weather, I was running late from work, I felt too bloated, etc etc?

    And let me tell you, if I lived anywhere near you, you would have had at least one person in that class! 🙂 Keep at it!

    • Thanks, Jennifer! I really appreciate that! 😀

      And you’re so right…last week I didn’t go to a dance class (as a student) that I’d been planning to head out to. And I REALLY wanted to go, but we’d had dentist appointments in the morning, and Matty had to work late, and so on and so on. I reminded myself of that class several times yesterday (And not in a “karma’s a bitch, ain’t it?” kind of way either :P)

  4. What a pretty set-up!

    Wow you for having such a good attitude about this. I know exactly what you mean about how you would have predicted feeling, but the fact that you’re not is definitely a good thing! Don’t give up —”If you build it, they will come.”

Leave a Reply

