Let’s Get Grounded: An experiment to try Right Now

Want to try a fun experiment?

Wherever you are right now, and whatever else you’re doing…just stop for a second.

Now…

Wiggle your toes.

You heard me. It doesn’t matter if you’re barefoot or in sock feet or in sneakers, bedroom slippers, or stilettos.

Wiggle them. Take your awareness down to those little tootsies of yours. Feel them moving. Press them out as wide as they can go. Move them up and down. Caress the surface underneath you, be it the floor or your shoes or whatever…give a little toe-y rub to whatever’s there.

Now take a deep breath in….and sigh it out. Aaaahhhhh.

How do you feel?

I’ve been doing this a LOT lately. Not tapping my feet or jiggling my leg, but reaching out with my toes and feeling with them. Just wiggling them. And ever since I started doing this, I feel more grounded and present. The other day I was feeling indefinably sad and I couldn’t get it to go away. I also couldn’t figure out what was the matter. So I wiggled my toes. We were on a road trip at the time, and I wiggled my toes all the way down the highway (safety tip: I was NOT driving. I don’t know if I can recommend this activity while driving…but on the other hand WHY ARE YOU READING THIS WHILE YOU’RE DRIVING ANYWAY?! KEEP YOUR EYES ON THE ROAD).

You know what happened while I wiggled my toes and breathed deeply and stared out the window?

I started to cry.

The simple act of toe-wiggling made that indefinable mood come out and express itself. And after about 10 minutes I was done crying, and all of a sudden I knew what my problem was…and I could take steps to fix it. And then I felt better.

Want to know what my problem was?

TOO BAD. Not going to tell you today. But I promise to tell you tomorrow.

In the meantime, wiggle those toes.

You can do it almost anywhere. And you’ll be glad you did.

xox

Meg

8 thoughts on “Let’s Get Grounded: An experiment to try Right Now

  1. Pingback: Unexpected side-effects of toe-wiggling may include epiphanies… | Spirit Moves Dance

  2. Pingback: The dance of rage | Spirit Moves Dance

  3. Pingback: Let’s Get Grounded: Growing Roots | Spirit Moves Dance

  4. Pingback: 100% Me-Sized | Spirit Moves Dance

  5. Pingback: Try this at home: The next step(s) | Spirit Moves Dance

Leave a Reply

