Inspiration Tuesday: Of self-care, creativity, and angels

Happy Tuesday!

Here are some of the things that have been inspiring me this week:

Did you know that last Friday was International No Diet Day? ME NEITHER! Not until after the fact, anyway. But now that I know, I wholeheartedly support the idea!

Here is an International No Diet Day post from Medicinal Marzipan in which she shares memories of body image (good and bad) from her past. I can relate to a lot of these. I think a lot of us can relate to a lot of these, which is why sites like Medicinal Marzipan are so very needed.

It was very fitting that I found that post this week. I’ve been thinking a lot about health and self-care and how I can fit more of it into my life without burying myself in “shoulds.” This post by Danette Relic on Roots of She explores how she created her own self-care routines based on things that actually made her feel good. This theme has been showing up a lot for me lately…I think the Universe may be trying to tell me something…

“If you used sensuality, pleasure and self-expression as your guideposts, what new self-care practices would you enjoy? How would your current practices be tweaked if you were asked to turn the volume up on delight?”

(Danette summed up exactly what I’ve been thinking about lately. I’d love to know, and so would Danette! Leave a comment for her at Roots of She and make her smile :D)

Here is a beautiful post by Creative Chai about the feeling of uncertain stuckness before the next creative whirlwind. I can so relate to this. It’s PAINFUL, and it’s so hard to remember that it’s just a temporary thing. I am fascinated by the fact that this post showed up in my Twitter feed this week. It was so very needed.

I’ve been taking LOADS of photos of myself lately. I take a photo every day after I get dressed as a way of exploring the colourful possibilities of my wardrobe. And even though these photos are just bathroom mirror photos, something about taking them every day and seeing myself through the lens is changing me. I’m getting more and more interested in self-portraiture. And that means I’m getting more and more inspired by the already-inspiring Vivienne McMaster. She’s launching her next You Are Your Own Muse Workshop this month, and it looks like a beautiful e-course. For now, I’m going to keep playing on my own, but this course is definitely on my must-try list!

Confession: I am not a fan of spiders. Our house was infested with Daddy-Long-Legs, and they make me all shuddery when I think about them. But this post by Amy Oscar has me thinking about them just a little differently. And, you know, about “signs” in general. Because someone is ALWAYS trying to tell you something and all you need to do is listen for it.

Here’s something that Goddess Leonie created after doing some listening of her own. What Your Angels Want You To Know is a free e-book that Leonie put together with help from her beautiful angel-baby Ostara. Hop on over to her blog and get your copy!

And finally, here is a video by Eve Ensler that I just can’t get enough of. And, because the Universe just loves to do this, it fits in PERFECTLY with this week’s post.

Have a great day!

xox

Meg

4 thoughts on “Inspiration Tuesday: Of self-care, creativity, and angels

  1. Ok – so you stole about 2/3rds of a blog post I was working on for tomorrow! LOL! I too am a big fan of Goddess Leonie’s message from angels, Amy Oscar’s spider story and dealing with the feeling of stuck and trying to remind myself that it doesn’t last forever. Tomorrow, I might just write, “to see what’s floating around in my brain, click here” with a link to you. 🙂

    Seriously, thanks for sharing. It’s nice to know others there are others with similar interests and connections.

  2. I am so loving your blog. That Eve Ensler video is perfect for me. I am going through a major transformation these days and have discovered just how wonderful my body is. I will definitely incorporate this video in my next blog post. Many thanks!

    Great idea on the daily self portrait. I was doing monthly but with my self transformation, a daily record is a great idea. I like too how you are looking at the colors you are wearing. I have changed so much in what I choose to wear both in style and color. Hmmmm wishing I started this sooner. Better get my camera out.

    thanks for being a sweet inspiration. Your spirit is just what I needed today.

    {soul hugs}
    Ryn

Leave a Reply

