Inspiration Tuesday: Love stories, Perseverance, Doctor Who, and Testicles

Happy Tuesday!

Oh, I have so much magic and sparkles and gigglesnorts for you today! I’ve been looking forward to this all weekend!

Let’s start with one of my favourite Goddesses, the lovely Goddess Leonie. She got married just the other day, and she left us this beautiful post when she went off to the seaside to do it. Click the link if you want to read of beautiful love, wedding plans, and assorted awesomeness!

Next….DOCTOR WHO!! I am such a major fan of this show. My son knew what a TARDIS was before he could say the word “TARDIS.” I own the box set of all five of the latest seasons, and I have a “Timelord Rock” CD which I know off by heart (yes, I am aware of my own nerdiness, but thanks for pointing it out. You say that like it’s a bad thing!).

But one thing I’ve never ever done is thought about what The Doctor can teach us about how to live. That is a brilliant mental shift that made my brain go *BING!* Thanks, Delisa! Now I have yet another reason to rewatch every season of The Doctor! Like I needed one πŸ˜›

I am adoring Vivienne McMaster’s photomontages on Roots of She. They’re so simple and beautiful and real. Go take a look at the latest one. You’ll want to carry your camera everywhere you go.

I don’t usually link to parenting sites on the blog, but I think that everyone, parent or not, will be inspired by this post: 10 Can’t Miss Childhood Moments. Kind of makes me want to go outside and play. Like, right now.

One of my favourite things in the world is finding someone who is sharing a message like mine. I click on their site, read their story or manifesto, and light up with a big “YES!” That happened when I clicked on Jen Saunders’s website. Go read her manifesta: Be Irreplaceable …because you already are, my darling. You already are.

If you’ll recall, the other day I wrote a post called Dancing With Failure, all about what happens when you throw a party and no one shows up. About a week later, I came across this post by Kate of Art Aligned…and I knew I wasn’t the only one dealing with this. There’s solidarity and comfort in admitting our setbacks and the lessons we’ve learned. There’s joy hidden in the process. And there are new friends waiting to be made when we’re honestly ourselves.

Gabrielle Roth. What can I say about Gabrielle Roth? She’s a goddess, a pioneer, a shaman. She has helped thousands of people connect with their spirit through dance. Her book Sweat Your Prayers changed my life. And she has a new article on the Huffington Post site. Why are you still here? GO READ IT!

I’m a big fan of Creative Living With Jamie, but I haven’t linked to a podcast in a long time. Time to change that. Last week’s interview with choreographer Kathleen Rea was completely amazing. I grinned and lit up with a big, glowing “YES!”…and I cried. Check it out. And then go here and give Jamie’s “Dance Away Resistance” exercise a try. I have officially added the link to my “HELP” folder for when I’m feeling stuck.

And finally, my darlings, here is your video for this week. It’s not a dance video this time, it’s a little inspirational speech from one of my favourite nerds. In which Hank Green tells us to GRAB LIFE BY THE TESTICLE. YES!

Go forth, my darling, and grab life by the balls. Raar.

xox

Meg

10 thoughts on “Inspiration Tuesday: Love stories, Perseverance, Doctor Who, and Testicles

  1. Thanks for the mention. I love it when people get Bings in their brains. Thanks for sharing that video and the other things you found inspiring. Inspiration is everywhere!

  2. Thank you for the link back, and for sharing Goddess Leonie’s wedding story and Vivienne McMaster’s photomontages! Wonderful inspiration today.

    • YAY!! πŸ˜€ Thank YOU for creating such amazing posts! I am a huge fan πŸ™‚

      And isn’t Hank awesome? I’ve been watching him and his brother John on Youtube for YEARS. I adore them!

Leave a Reply

