Inspiration Tuesday: Authenticity, Heroines, Joy Lists, and Hilarity

Happy Tuesday!

Lots and lots of link love to share with you today! Some of it’s thought provoking, some of it’s useful, some of it’s beautiful, and some of it…well, it was just too fun NOT to share πŸ™‚

Let’s start!

It. Could. Be. Worse.

This is a really fascinating post about how this line we feed ourselves in bad times…is actually not helpful at all:

when we tell ourselves β€œit could be worse” we discount the validity of our own story. We dissociate from our own circumstances, even our own emotions and tell ourselves to get it together

Huh! I am a chronic “It could be worse”er, so this idea had never occurred to me. But it makes a lot of sense…interesting…

Here is a beautiful post by Rachael Maddox. Yes, I post a lot of Rachael’s writing. That’s because it’s so ridiculously awesome.

“You have full permission to tend to whatever feeling you have, in whatever milli-moment it arises.”

…now there’s a great reminder.

Ellie over at Apples and Porches recently posted a kickass article called The Legacy of Forgotten Heroines. It features Warrior Women portraits by E Katie Holm, and it is fantastic AND educational. Yes, please! (If you want to see the rest of the photos in this collection, head over HERE).

Ellie has big plans in the works, and I can’t wait to see what she does next!

 

I know that not everyone who drops by my blog is a mom, but for those that are, this article is amazing: Life and Art: Three Tools for Blending Creativity and Motherhood

I ran into not one but TWO excellent lists/articles this week. Psychology Today posted 50 Ways to Add Joy To Your Day, and Havi Brooks at Fluentself.com posted 74 Ways to Push the Reset Button (aka 74 ways to get unstuck). I am seriously considering printing both of these lists out and taping them to the refrigerator!

Here’s something fun: Jenn Hicks shared her experience as a participant in this year’s Subway Dance Party in Toronto (BEST. IDEA. EVER.). If Halifax had a subway system, I would SO try to start something like this. I love it! Thanks so much to Jenn for giving non-Torontonians a peek at the awesomeness.

And I glimpsed my future in this video of a little boy’s inspirational speech:

Say it with me: AWWWWWWWWW.

And finally, as a super-awesome bonus, here is a link that my husband sent me last night:

Why Neil Patrick Harris Should Host Every Awards Show Ever All of Them

It’s a collection of the best of the Tony Awards. Not my usual Inspiration Tuesday fodder, but hey…there’s singing and dancing, and rapping and a sneaky classical ballet reference in one of the videos (can YOU find it?). I laughed my ASS off.

Have a great one! And if you find anything awesome on the ‘net this week, come back and share! πŸ˜€

xox

Meg

12 thoughts on “Inspiration Tuesday: Authenticity, Heroines, Joy Lists, and Hilarity

  1. 2 things.
    1: “I’m happy of myself!” Awwww, so cute!
    2: On “It. Could. Be. Worse.” without having read the article yet, I’ve heard someone make the analogy that if you break your leg, and your friend gets brain cancer, you feel badly for your friend, but it doesn’t make your leg hurt any less.

    Now to read all these links! πŸ™‚

    • YES! That’s exactly the jist of the article. I seriously hadn’t thought about it that way.

      And I KNOW! He’s so adorable! I will put up with this GODAWFUL new phase of Xander’s if it means that he will grow into a kid like that πŸ™‚

      • Is it anything like Violet’s “I must establish my independence from you by disagreeing with everything you say” stage? Because if it is (and even if it’s something else), I am right there with you!

  2. Thanks for the shout-out, Meg! The women warrior series is something I’d been sitting on for a long time, and it just now felt right to publish the article. Maybe I’m getting more warrior-y now!

    • Thank YOU, Miranda! Your post was exactly what I needed to read! My son will be three in August, and I needed the reminder that it doesn’t have to be either mama OR artist (because it SO often *feels* like it does!)

      The work you’re doing is SO VERY needed in this world!
      xox πŸ™‚

  3. Good post!

    Some ex-boyfriend of mine *wink* used to always play that “It could be worse” card on me and it was so infuriating! Invalidation of one’s feelings really blows. I totally agree with that post.

    The women warrior portraits were neat. Very interesting stories, and a cool project. The lists of ways to increase joy and get “unstuck” were great. Thanks for sharing!

    Finally got a chance to watch those videos from the Tonys. Awesome, awesome, awesome!! πŸ˜€ NPH is super talented. And Hugh Jackman… *swoon* Most of all, though, I’m so glad Trey Parker and Matt Stone are being recognized for the geniuses they are. I want to see The Book of Mormon so bad now!

Leave a Reply

