Fearless Creativity

I live with a magical creature, an ever-changing creative whirlwind, a fearlessly authentic being.

Sometimes I get so wrapped up in my own problems and to-do lists that I lose sight of the endless source of inspiration right in front of me.

Because, really? You want to see fearless creativity?

Play with a toddler.

TARDIS by Meg, The Doctor and Amy Pond by Xander.

When a toddler draws, he’s not afraid of being less-than-realistic in his depiction.

When a toddler dances, he’s not worried about how he looks.

A toddler finds play and creativity in the messiest situations.

If you let him, a toddler will cover his whole world with art (and hopefully clean it up again when you ask him to :P).

To a toddler, a piece of string can be a pair of wings.

And a box can be a car.

And nothing is impossible. Because you’re Superman.

I spend every day with him, and sometimes I forget.

This is a reminder.

Happy birthday, little man. I wish I could be more like you. Except for that whole “diaper” thing…I’ll pass on that.

Love,

Mummy

5 thoughts on “Fearless Creativity

  1. Sometimes it is really hard to remember the magical moments. Especially with toddlers. This is beautiful.

    Also, I know this wasn’t the point of posting wee man’s artwork – but he’s really good! My little guy is still going through his abstract Pollack phase. 😉

    • Ugh, I know! The entire month of July was a giant suck-fest when it came to my connection with Xander. It was terrible. So. Much. Yelling. (and then feeling really bad). But August has been SO much better. I’m glad I got the perspective to remember how freaking amazing he is 🙂

      I love Xander’s artwork so much! I think he definitely picked up Matty’s genes on that one. Apparently Matty was exactly the same way when he was small. That Doctor Who picture is one of my favourites from this year 🙂

  2. Awwww. This made me all misty-eyed. My little guy is about to turn 6 months old and it’s amazing how I see the world differently now that it’s through his eyes. I love this!

Leave a Reply

